St. Mary’s Catholic School Academic Awards Ceremony

St. Mary’s Catholic School recently had their Academic Awards ceremony for the 2022-23 school year for students in first through eleventh grades. Congratulations to the following students for their academic achievements this year!

Woodman of the World Award

The Woodman of the World Award is given each year to an outstanding student in American History. This award is not only for having a high grade point average, but also for demonstrating the ability to understand and appreciate the value of the study of history.

The recipient of this years’ Woodman of the World Award is Trent Middendorf.

Louisiana High School Literary Rally

Students that advanced to state level competition for the Louisiana High School Literary Rally are:

Emma Blanchard—Algebra I
Andrew Kautz—Algebra II and first place medal winner at state
Abigail Rodriguez – Biology I
Reaves Hogg – Chemistry and first place medal winner at state
Georgia Kate Philen – English I
Anna Thibodaux – English II and first place medal winner at state
Mason Melder – English III
Luke Johnson – Government and first place medal at state
Peter Kautz – Health and first place medal at state
Colton Cross – Spanish I and first place at state
Trent Middendorf – US History
Ella Guillet – World History

In addition, the following seniors qualified for state:

Emma Broadway–Business English and first place medal winner at state
Anna Kate Jackson–English IV and first place medal winner at state
Camille Ball–Calculus and first place medal winner at state

Future Business Leaders of America

Students who placed in the Top 10 at state level competition for FBLA are:

Peter Kautz – Advertising
Adam Parker – Client Services
Trent Middendorf – Economics
Mason McCart – Help Desk
Reaves Hogg – Mr. FBL
Colton Cross – Securities and Investments
Adam Parker & Reaves Hogg – Publication Design

Students who placed in the Top 4 are:

Sophia Hogg – Introduction to public Speaking
Peter Kautz – Securities and Investments

The Team of Mason McCart, Trent Middendorf and Anna Kate Jackson placed first in current events.

Altar Servers

The following students gave their time and service as altar servers for both school Masses as well as Masses at the Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception for this school year:

Holt Cedars, Winn Cedars, Beau Clark, Colton Cross, Luc Cross, Hudson Harrington, Carter Hogg, Mason McCart, Heath Methvin, Hudson Methvin, Adam Parker, Gannon Sheffield, Joseph Sklar, Branch Smith, Jacob Thibodaux, John Paul Thibodaux, Merritt Vandersteen, Fisher York and Jackson York.

Academic Subject Awards

The academic subject awards are chosen by the teachers and are given to the student, who not only demonstrates high academic achievement in the subject, as well as greatinterest and potential in the subject area. The following students were recognized for ELA, Math, Science and Social Studies:

1st grade: ​​ELA – Revill Dean
​​​Math – Eleanor Picou
​​​Science – Tommy Brunson
​​​Social Studies – Eli Thibodaux

2nd grade: ​​ELA – Lila Campbell
​​​Math – Jax Errington
​​​Science – Gavin Key
​​​Social Studies – Elizabeth Blankenbaker

3rd grade: ​​ELA – Heath Methvin
​​​Math – Sam Dean
​​​Science – Oliver Picou
​​​Social Studies – Aubree Rachal

4th grade: ​​ELA – Corbyn Gandy

​​​Math – Weston LeGrande
​​​Science – Aaron Blanchard
​​​Social Studies – Anna Johnson

5th grade: ​​ELA – Kollyns Duhon

​​​Math – Emiry Jeane
​​​Science – Sydney Culotta
​​​Social Studies – Elijah Huynh

6th grade: ​​ELA – Fisher York

​​​Math – Merritt Vandersteen
​​​Science – Mia Hollier
​​​Social Studies – Jacob Thibodaux

7th grade: ​​ELA – Abram Nichols

​​​Math – Carter Burks
​​​Science – Summer Rushing
​​​Social Studies – Ava Wren

8th grade: ​​ELA – Justin Vienne

​​​Math – Ella Hardee
​​​Science – Cameron Ball
​​​Social Studies – Trey Scarborough

9th grade: ​​ELA – Ainsley Armstrong

​​​Math – Conor Jordan
​​​Science – Peter Kautz
​​​History – Anderson Kelly

10th grade: ​​ELA – Anna Thibodaux

​​​Math – Colton Cross
​​​Science – Alex Sukerek
​​​History – Ella Guillet

11th grade: ​​ELA – Clary Smiley​

​​​Math – Adam Parker
​​​Science – Reaves Hogg
​​​History – Hunter LaGrange

Tiger Integrity Awards

St. Mary’s recognizes students who have continually represented values that the school was founded upon and who represent the mission of the school. The Tiger Integrity award is an honor chosen by the teachers and given to St. Mary’s students that exhibit a compilation of many honorable and outstanding traits. This honor is bestowed upon one student in grades first through eleventh. The recipients of this award are students that show great school pride and spirit. They are honest and helpful, possess a quality of humble respect for others, and value the religious aspect of a St. Mary’s education. The following students received the Tiger Integrity Award:

1st grade – Archer Johnson
2nd grade – Carter Hough
3rd grade – Branch Smith
4th grade – Avery Katherine Sheffield
5th grade – Macie Cameron
6th grade – Ava Knapp
7th grade – Kennedy Griffin
8th grade – Jenna Sklar
9th grade – Cailah Bush
10th grade –Abby Rodriguez
11th grade – Mason McCart

Bishop Martin Awards

The Natchitoches Diocese was created in 1852 and Augustus Marie Martin was consecrated as the first Bishop in October of 1853. During his 22nd year tenure he established a seminary to train native clergy, founded numerous missions and erected a cathedral (our own Immaculate Conception). He guided the diocese during the Civil War and struggled for many years with failing health. When he died at the age of 72, he was buried next to the altar inside of the Minor Basilica.

In keeping with the spirit of our first bishop, the Bishop Martin Award of St. Mary’s is awarded to a student that has consistently maintained the mission of St. Mary’s Catholic School. The students that receive this award have, by example, attempted to maintain and exhibit Catholic Christian values and have taken advantage of the religious foundation offered at St. Mary’s to reach their full potential spiritually, academically, and physically. This award is one of the highest honors a St. Mary’s student can receive. The following students received the Bishop Martin Award:

1st grade – Ryan Lovemore
2nd grade – Jaxson Norsworthy
3rd grade – Hudson Harrington
4th grade – Lexie Metoyer
5th grade – Andrew Johnson
6th grade – Madelyn Melder
7th grade – John Paul Thibodaux
8th grade – Chalin Gandy
9th grade – Georgia Kate Philen
10th grade – Sophia Hogg
11th grade – Mason Melder

Mason McCart was recognized as the recently elected President of Louisiana State Beta for the 2022-23 academic year. He will run for National Beta Club president at the national convention in Nashville, Tennessee this summer.

St. Mary’s Catholic School is a co-educational, college preparatory school that educates students from preschool through twelfth grade. It is a ministry of the Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception Church.