Delta Sigma Theta Sorority – Iota Mu Chapter at NSU Grand Celebration

A Simply Golden celebration was held on May 21-22 marking the 50th anniversary of the Iota Mu Chapter at NSU, the first Greek Black sorority chartered on the predominately white campus in 1972. Chapter members and alumnae traveled from across the Nation for the grand celebration representing five decades (1972-2022) of sisterhood, scholarship, service and social action.

The historic celebration began on NSU campus in the President Room with a meet and greet networking luncheon focusing on the mission of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, while strategically positioning the chapter for the work which lies ahead. Current chapter president for the 50th year celebration Ar’Niyah Bradley shared in the sisterly fellowship. Following the luncheon members of the NSU Alumni Association provided a tour of the campus showcasing the progressive changes and state of the art construction that has taken place over the 50-year span.

The setting chosen for the chapter’s 50th Anniversary Celebration was Merci Beaucoup Restaurant located near Cane River. The Delta sisters were recognized by their colors, dressed in flaming red with a touch of gold for an evening that reflected on their rich 50-year legacy. The members and invited guest enjoyed a French/Cajun cuisine, live music and a list of speakers that included the chapter Chartering Advisor Mrs. Edwina M. Lewis, City of Natchitoches Mayor, The Honorable Ronnie Williams, Jr., and an Official Statement from the 56th Governor of Louisiana Office, The Honorable John Bel Edwards both recognizing May 21 in honor of Mrs. Edwina Lewis. Remarks were given by Chapter President Bradley, Regina Emanuel Martin, 50th year member, Dr. Nikki Ceaser-Small, NSU Alumni Association and chapter council advisor Judith Hayes Wallter.

Climaxing the evening chapter members and alumnae were thrilled to announce the Edwina Mudrick Lewis Distinguished Service Award has been established bearing the name of our founding advisor for 25 years of service. The check presentation honoring Mrs. Lewis tutelage will be made to NSU 20th President, Dr. Marcus Jones during Homecoming on Oct. 22. Also, Iota Mu Chapter President Bradley was gifted with a personalized life size sorority Crest to be displayed at all official chapter celebrations and noted occasions. All sorority sisters in attendance received customized DST gifts.

The weekend culminated with May Week Worship Service at the First Baptist Church North Street where members of the chapter gathered for service 50 years ago and several sorority members are active in the congregation today. A community service donation of $500.00 was made to the church in support of their Christian Education Ministry honoring Mrs. Lewis dedication and devotion to education. The 50th Celebration Committee members: Ar’Niyah Bradley, Cynthia Harmon, Brenda Fowler Milner, Sonya Snowden Turner and Gisele Proby-Bryant.